Super inexperienced at production, looking for advice on getting started.

Leef

I'm new to this forum
I'm 16 years old. I've been producing on my friends copy of FL studio since the age of 12 and within the past few months was given a copy of Ableton.
I'm a fairly competent pianist but I struggle to make and compose music at all. I find my rhythm sections are messy, my melodies/bass/chords are bland and I never find my way to some sort of developed concept. Does anybody have any ideas or tips for how I can get started and begin progressing as a musician and composer?
Thanks, in advance, for any help.

At this stage, no.
Keep making music until it gets better.

Maybe analyse in depth a few tracks you like to see what makes them tick. Sit down with a pen and paper and write what they do... not so much 'super awesome lead' 'catchy melody' but 'bright lead with reverb' ' 4 bar 5 note melody, with x rhythm repeated'. Think about the music theory of what's happening- and if you don't know the theory, learn an instrument and chords and things.

I'm new to this forum
I'm 16 years old. I've been producing on my friends copy of FL studio since the age of 12 and within the past few months was given a copy of Ableton.
I'm a fairly competent pianist but I struggle to make and compose music at all. I find my rhythm sections are messy, my melodies/bass/chords are bland and I never find my way to some sort of developed concept. Does anybody have any ideas or tips for how I can get started and begin progressing as a musician and composer?
Thanks, in advance, for any help.