Suggestions to train to hear good samples?

slayerpianoman

So I''m a musician with 18 years experience, I'm 22, and I'm a jazz pianist and I'm pro level, so luckily I know all the theory needed to produce, but I am deeply humbled by the awesomely skilled producers I see on youtube and abroad. I love beat production and hip hop, the art form speaks to me and symbolizes where I live. I live in Chicago and want to go into the underground and make a name for myself. It's not about pride, it's just about meeting people, making kick ass music, and taking the next step in actually becoming the outgoing person I want to be, rather than the introverted person I am now. The art speaks to my inner nostalgia, it's a personal growth thing that I deeply want to explore it, and I respect all who do. My struggle isn't the harmonies, or knowing the vibes I want to put out, it's literally hearing the samples within. It's like I hear all these producers doing wonderful things with a jazz record, but when I listen to Kind of Blue or any dope jazz album I just don't hear the samples like others do. It's like the magic moments within the music I just don't pick up on, and I can't find anything that sounds good. My aural skills are good, so I know what's going on theoretically, but it's like people just hear something and go "THAT! I want that!" I've only found something decent once off a Thelonious Monk and made a beat, and it wasn't great but it wasn't bad, but it was almost fluke luck. I'm just asking if anyone has any tips or advice on how to hear the potential beats within the music, and how to train myself over time to hear them better? I wish there was someone who could train me in person, but like most producers I assume, you have to do it yourself, and youtube is great but no one really helps in this category. I would really appreciate any input you guys have.