Stems vs DAWs

BroomChild

I'm curious as to which is more preferable to work with for both remixing and for sourcing sounds for original works?

I'm a new producer and would like to know whether stems are easier and more accessible to use/ find than DAW project files and where I would begin to search for either of them.

Thanks

Last edited:
Hmm... I'm confused. You use the stems inside the daw? You don't have much use for one without the other

Sorry for the confusion i meant the DAW project files. say you could get them and not just the audio stem what would be the benefits.

Ah! Well, if the project files comes with the instruments and midi patterns and not just audio stems, obviously you'd have a lot more options in terms of..well everything really.

Can't think of a single thing a hard printed audio file would have over the full project file.

I mean think about it.. You have everything there and can alter anything you'd like however you please. But with just stems you can really only chop, stretch and add effects to it.

Last edited:
Yes this is what i thought however differences in software and plugins might make these impossible to find. do you know anywhere that may have a database for projectiles or stems?

No doubt it's going to be a lot trickier to find the whole project files, and when you do I guess it's mostly templates for you to use, and suppose most of them only use the stock plugins so you don't get all the missing plugins along with it.

I wouldn't know where to get a hold of any of it to be honest. When I remix, I try to get a remix pack from the artist themselves, and that usually include everything I need.

stems any day - different folks use different daws and if you are sharing material to work on then it would have to be full length audio files (pcm wav/aiff) or full length midi files