Should I get a synthesiser or a midi keyboard?

Tomix

I was looking at a Microkorg or Mininova, should I get one of these or focus on something like a Novation Launchkey which has the benefit of launchpads which I think i'd use a lot.

I am just beginning in music and want to create deep house/chillwave music with soul music incorporated.

Thanks for the reply. Is there any reason why?

Also, can I load sounds onto a synthesiser and play them in different keys like I can with a midi keyboard. I.e if I find a cool sound in a sample pack can I put it onto the synthesiser?

You're able to do the same things sound-wise with the midi keyboard as you would with the synthesizer in addition to it being $200 bucks cheaper. If I remember correctly, you can not load sounds to a synthesizer.

Midi keyboard=controller
hardware synth=synthesis engine built in piano and can be used as a midi keyboard
digital synth=synthesizer programs most commonly reffered to as vsts.

hardware synth less flexible unless used in roundabout ways while digital is well, less limited.
Unles talking about modular.

midi keys will be cheaper and youll be able to use all the soft synths on it you want. An actual hard synthesizer is something you'd buy after your familiar with using soft synths and wanna move onto trying hardware.. Or you could get it right away it doesn't really matter...but that would be a good way to go about things as a beginner. Dont just get excited and buy a big expensive synth right away before you even know if you like using the keys. All you really need at this point is a synth controller used for VSTs assuming you're gonna be one of the 99% who takes the VST route to begin.

Is the VST route whereby I'll use a normal midi keyboard but load synthesisers I buy online to digitally change the noises the keys make?

If so that might be the best option for me, however I do find it much easier when I can fiddle with hardware instead of messing about with a mouse!