sampling related theory questions

daniel9321

Basically, I'm a total beginner when it comes to sampling and production in general. I have seen a few tutorials and in one of them someone mentioned that the length of the sample should be dependent on the tempo of the sample. Is this true and if so what does this mean? Also, when laying down the sample chops on the piano roll, does it matter how many bars the pattern is before looping? I don't know if that makes sense but basically what I mean is, does it matter if the pattern loops after 1 bar or 3 or 4 for example? I don't know if I'm just overthinking it all but when I've been trying things out, it doesn't seem to sound that great.
Any tips in general would be great. Thanks (also I'm using FL Studio if that helps).

tempo is a statement of how many beats per minute

120bpm means 2 beats every second so 4 bars of 4/4 will be 8 seconds long

a sample/project will usually have a sample rate: 44.1kHz/48kHz

A problem you will encounter is that we use the word sample for two different yet related aspects.

The first is the actual piece of music you are going to use: the whole of the segment is a sampling of the entire piece it comes from

When chopping a sample you want to be certain of the tempo the sample is playing at. Unfortunately unless it is sequenced there is a good chance that the tempo will change every beat as human beings do not play with perfect timing. Even with great players there will still be some wiggle room on timing and the beat may nudge up and down a few bpm all the way through.

The second is the individual slice corresponding to 1 step of the sample rate

44.1khz means that 1 sample step = 1/44100 seconds (0.022676 milliseconds) or more concisely 1 second = 44100 samples

48kHz means that 1 sample step = 1/48000 seconds (0.020833 milliseconds)