Producing while travelling

Huffy

I'm a new producer looking to buy some hardware and software to help make music, but I'm about to go to Europe and don't want to be carrying any heavy equipment around. All I have right now is ableton, and i've been able to get pretty far sampling audio with simpler and modulating it but I want to get more versatile software like Massive and other VSTs. I've noticed that a lot of the best deals on VST's are bundles with hardware though, which I can't really take along unless it's lightweight, and larger software bundles like Komplete Ultimate are out of my price range (I'm thinking 400-700$). Any advice for a next step? What's a good set of tools to start off with that will get me going for a while, lightweight on the hardware, and affordable? Thank you in advance!

Assuming you already have a capable computer, and quality mixing headphones I would personally go for something like a MicroKorg sized midi controller. You don't need the microkorg I'm just referring to the size.

If you didn't want that, I would get some sort of PAD controller, like an MPC studio. I wouldn't reccomend MPC studio for you because youre already on ableton, but I'm just referring to the size and style here.

Each of these things they should make in a cheap MIDI controller only type thing. I recommend these tools because they really expand your creativity and honestly I think one or the other you need to keep yourself from going insane with all the clicking and stuff. They are optional but you better be really good at clicking in music while still not having it seem totally robotic!

Aside from that, the good VST's just cost big money. Just keep an eye out for good deals, etc. I bought komplete and really don't use everrrrythhhing that came with it. I still have a lot of exploring to do and I bought it a while ago.

But for me legally having massive and kontakt alone was worth it.