New here and frustrated: production credit?

Miears2

I'm new to this forum so, hello!

I am a producer/singer/songwriter who is in a band but I have also started a solo side project. I write/produce/perform electronic music (I've never been good at deciphering my own genre.. But it's dancy and synthy to give you some insight). I use Logic Pro 9 and prefer my MicroKorg, Arturia Mini Brute, Roland ax-09, as well as a variety of VSTs.

I compose and produce my tracks from scratch, and write all of my vocals as well as record them... I handle all of the arrangement and finalize the song all the way through a rough mix. I am going to put out an EP, and my final step will be to have the tracks mixed and mastered by an engineer that I have previously worked with.

Here is my question: I have 2 good friends who are musicians but not in the electronic world (they are a blues rock drummer and bass guitarist) who are telling me that, if I have the songs mixed and mastered by an engineer, he should get production credit... I've explained to them til I'm blue in the face why this is not the case - he would get mixing and mastering credit, but not production.

Can anyone on here back me up on this?

Thanks sterlingrichard!