New to the Game, Seeking advice!

JayJDa1

Hows it going guys. Im new to production and new to this site. trying to get my foot in the door but i am overwhelmed with all the choices from DAW's to Monitors. The only item in my studio as of now is my macbook pro which i spent extra to upgrade and my beats studio's 2.0. I have experience on garage band and fl studios but as of now i am on garageband, Fl was on my old sony laptop didn't really get the full experience of it and i got it for free years ago however, it was a pretty good experience. The one thing i could decide on is i am going to buy the Beat Thang for my midi controller, sampler, drum machine etc. Down the line i may buy a novation impulse. which daw works well with the beat thang and iOS based on personal experience and for Microphones, Monitors, Audio inputs do you guys have any suggestions? any suggestions for a good set up in general would be much appreciated.

If you've been using Garageband and would like to step it up a notch upgrade to Logic, it's like Garageband on crack! Try it out

Oooooohhh i miss the very beginning so much. Frustrating but it was fun to me.

When it comes to the DAW, the most important thing is to use one that is popular & does get used by professionals. Im not familiar with garageband, however i am pretty sure it is capable of making the same quality music as the other top DAWs.
But if i was to give you a recommendation, i would say to use the latest FL Studio (I believe 11? lol) I say this because of so many reasons. That will come to your advantage in the long run.

1: It is very inexpensive. It has the capabilities of any other DAW available but for so much cheaper.
(There is a reason for that, and it is a downfall. It is because the stock plugins are decent but far from the best. You will need to upgrade & get some effect plugins and i guarantee that. (Along with the stock instruments. Just dont use them. Some are okay but you can go so much farther with 3-4 great VST)