Need some advice

beginner123

Hi, I’m a newbie here, for who help would be really appreciated. After years of playing piano and learning basic concepts of music theory, I finally took up an interest in broadening my horizons and listening to different genres of music than classic (in an analyzing way). I especially liked Deep House and EDM, and considered that it would be a good idea to learn to make this kind of music. After lots of searching in Google and watching Youtube videos, I finally figured out that I don’t really know from where to start. There’s lots of information, a lot of courses. Moreover, there’re Youtube videos how to make electro music step by step, but it often consist of synthesizers, loops, samples and stuff that I couldn’t afford, and idk how to do the same, for example, with free alternatives. Therefore I would really appreciate help if you could tell me from where to start, or recommend not expensive courses or give any useful links or information (It would be really good if they were on FL studio, because it seems to me as a comfortable DAW to start with). Thank you in advance and sorry if this question isn’t in the right place.

First things first: Deep House IS EDM. EDM stands for Electronic Dance Music, which means it is the generic name for all genres of electronic music.

Now, with that new knowledge in mind, I advice you to "choose" one subgenre (like the deep house you mentioned) and start watching tutorials linked to that subgenre. Keep in mind, though, that nothing you're gonna watch is a set of rules. Experiment, try new things and learn other subgenres as well to create your own music.

I think learning about every single thing before you start producing yourself may just overwhelm you and be causing you confusion. I would recommend just getting in there and learning the hard way: through experience. Grab a Daw, just make drum patterns, loops, small ideas and eventually you will learn and move on to more advanced production