Music Degree... No idea what I'm doing!

teyoloky

Hey guys!

Just want to introduce myself and say hello!

I'm actually a high school music teacher with a bachelors degree in music education and trumpet performance.

I've spent most of my life playing trumpet professionally solo and in bands of all kinds, and teaching music, but the funny thing... I have been wanting to get into electronic music and music production for a long time, but everytime I sit down with some software I'm instantly lost.

Anyone have any tips for getting started?

I've had plenty of music and theory education, so I'm pretty good on that front, but the hardware and software... I'm totally lost. lol

Thanks everyone!

Welcome to FP and I'm jealous of your music/theory background :)

What style(s) are you looking to produce? Research synths as electronic music is big on them.

Depending on your computer type e.g. Mac or PC start w/any DAW that has a free trial.

Last edited:
Work with some younger people.

There are many electronic producers who would love to have someone with experience playing brass instruments to add realism to their music. They teach you the software and you provide them lessons or just replay melodies they are looking for.

Honestly, the software is pretty easy if you go into it with the mindset that it is a tool and not worry about perfection. If you can learn the trumpet, you can learn how to use a DAW. You just keep playing around with it and work out a way to make rhythm tracks to go along with the trumpet you play.

Last edited:
hey, it's cool to meet you. And it's awesome to meet an experienced music teacher, and professional. I played trumpet, ..like in middle school, but took up the electronic path in high school and have been doing it all through hs, college, to now. (i have a bachelor degree too)