Is learning FL Studio a directed process or more like learn-along-the-way?

RichieC

Hey FP :hello:

So I'm a complete newbie and I pretty much have most of what I need to get started.
Got my monitors, subwoofer, midi keyboard, reference to piracy removed, and FL Studio Producer Edition (Bought)

I want to produce music headed more towards hip hop / rap. Particularly towards J Cole, Jay Z, Tupac style.

There's so much to learn so I don't know where to start. I read the sticky and how it says I should be just jamming out daily instead of trying learn, but I feel like aimlessly just making a small beat isn't really going to take me anywhere.

Should I start off by learning sampling? Learning the ins and outs of massive and nexus? learning the ins and out of fl studio? music theory? Should I try to recreate the artists' songs that I want to sound like?

I feel like this is trying to eat an extremely big stacked hamburger at once. And I'm just wondering how I should eat it. Should I eat some of the lettuce first?, tomato? etc.

Thanks all

Last edited by a moderator:
As far as what you should do as a new producer is identify what you want to make. From the artists that you mentioned, working with samples would definitely help. You should also get familiar with how FL works. If you haven't used the step sequencer, piano roll editor, Edison/Slicex then I'd suggest you start by watching some "How to get started" videos for FL Studio (there are many good ones out there). After that I would try looking at tutorial videos on how to make an instrumental from samples and using synths/instruments.

Again, there is a lot of material on YouTube that will help you out in learning!

Hey thanks for responding.

I have messed around with piano roll and step sequencer, definitely need more practice with Edison.
Eventually I would like to put lyrics over my music, but I feel like I should get my producing down first.

Hey FP :hello: