Krk rokits Good?

First: do not listen to any advice from anyone who says they mix on headphones because that person is clueless. Mixing on headphones is a total noob no-no for many reasons which I won't go into here; that's for a different section of this forum.

That being said, if you do invest in some KRKs, get the newer powered (AKA active) models, and if you can afford it, get the 8's or bigger. I believe they just released a set that has 10" speakers in it, but I haven't heard them. I use the KRK Rockit 8's while tracking/dialing in tones and then switch between those and a cheapo pair of Alesis active Mk2's while mixing.

I do agree with many of the comments here regarding the KRK's low-end: they tend to be a little soft on the low end; adding a subwoofer will be my next big purchase. But, the Alesis monitors I use are almost a bit over-hyped on the low-end, so having both sets to switch between typically allows me to accurately mix the low-end on all my tracks. I produce/record many different genres (alternative/indie/rock/hip-hop/vocal jazz/pop) and the KRKs work well for all of those genres (as any decent set of monitors should).

Also, ignore the advice posted by someone here where they said you'd be better off with a set of bookshelf speakers. I'm not sure what that user meant when he said the bookshelf speakers would "outperform" the KRKs, but it doesn't really matter because that's just categorically false. Also, bookshelf speakers are meant for listening to a finished product and are typically hyped & cut in frequencies all across the spectrum, so that will affect how yer mixes translate to other systems (and usually it's not good).