Invest in you FIRST. Don't get G.A.S. You don't need more stuff...

Nerozumiem

Nerozumiem
I just joined the thread because I wanted to get in with this community, but I have been recording for 12 years.

I don't consider myself an expert or anything like that, but I do have some humble advice for people who are just getting started. After being on the site for ten minutes I have already noticed a theme that can get beginners, rooks, and newbies all screwed up. It's called, G.A.S.

G.A.S. stands for Gear Acquisition Syndrome. Gear Acquisition Syndrome (sometimes Guitar Acquisition Syndrome, both abbreviated to GAS) is a term used to describe an urge to acquire and accumulate lots of gear. This term commonly associated with: Guitarists (tend to acquire guitars, guitar amplifiers, pedals, effects processors).

The bottom line is this: learn how to use what you've got. Get the best out of what you have. If your mixes aren't as good as you want them to be, don't just go buy plugins, software, and hardware, just get better at mixing. Master the art. And master it with what you have. You can do it. Plugins and other things can help, but if you rely on them and never take the time to learn and hone your skills, you'll probably never get your music where you want it to be.

I've known so many guitar players who are constantly buying new effects and pedals, but still struggle tuning their guitar. Invest in yourself, and then invest in equipment!

Hugh Macleod, in his book, Ignore Everybody and 39 Other Keys to Creativity, said, "The more talented somebody is, the less they need props." He went on:

There’s no correlation between creativity and equipment ownership. None. Zilch. Nada.