Introduction

Jahnani

Jahnani here. Been a hip hop head for awhile and for some reason I've waited this long to get into making beats. I'm really looking to get into making my own instrumentals with samples, etc. Noob here so any words of advice or online tutorials to get me going would be nice. Right now I'm using Logic Pro and a have an Akai MPC Mini. This is probably a broad question but where do you find your samples? Download them? Vinyl? Do they have to be a certain format? Sorry for all the questions. Hope to get some stuff posted to Soundcloud soon.

Hey, welcome to forum! :) Personally, I try to not use samples. I do a little bit though, and they come from various sources. You can search on google for anything pretty much. You can sample from vinyl, or cds, too sure. For the vinyl, you'll need to run it through an audio interface. You can even sample gameboys and stuff, but be cautious with the rights on what you're taking. I tend to frown on sampling...it's not really good to sample. It's much better to make your own stuff for your songs. My upcoming releases have "samples" (if you will) but everything is recorded with my own microphone.

but anyway, welcome. There's a good hip hop community here. it's good to meet ya.

Last edited:
I tend to frown on sampling...it's not really good to sample. It's much better to make your own stuff for your songs.

Tell that to J Dilla, Pete Rock, MF Doom and an entire host of world class producers before them that built an entire scene; a genre - based on sampled music.
Comments like this only ever come from people who don't understand what hip hop is, how it's traditionally been expressed and where it came from. I frown at you.

Do you call graffiti 'vandalism' and think breakin is wack as well?! Smh.

You're right. He did. Most people who sample do.
He also sampled an absolute shedload.