If your a good or average producer, are your beats always good or ok?

caycay

I've been making beats for maybe 2 yrs, but I've been going hard for the last years. Recently I've been making hip hop beats and I feel like I'm on another level. I made 2 beats recently which took around 15 mins each, and I said to myself, phuck it, I'm a beast, and started focusing on r&b. But, I just made a beat and felt like it wasnt on par on where it should be. Is that normal? Also I typically don't spend more than 20 to 30 mins on a beat. I'm not trying to call anybody out, but I hear people say on here they spend a month or weeks on a beat. My question is do people spend days, hours, or a month on beats typically to make a beat good? Or does that mean you need to work on your production skills?

Good question I think everyone is different and everyone has a different work flow. A lot of people start from scratch meaning they search for each drum/each sound each time they start a new track...

Some people (like me) start from previous tracks where the drums and sounds are already there and mixed etc so it's not going to take as long. I've personally never spent more than a couple of hours on a track.

After coming up with the basic idea for a beat,it's usually pretty easy/fast for me to put down the core elements of the track. But what takes a lot of time is building the arrangement and putting on the extra/finishing touches,till i'm really satisfied with the end result and feel like a beat is 'complete' (if that's even possible).
That's the most time consuming part for me, and probably the reason why i give up on so many of my beats due to frustration of not getting the results i want...

Last edited:
I generally spend more time on an original beat than when im working with a sample. If its a remix even longer.

SOme beats are finished in 10 mins and are super hot. Others take 5+ hours and are super hot.