I need help, I'm a beginner. Anybody willing?

ExyDot

Hi, I'm a beginning producer who intends to really get serious with producing. However, I'm a very hands-on, one-on-one type of learner. Watching videos and reading things helps me to an extent, but not the same extent having one-on-one help would.

I want to ask if any skilled producers would be willing to help me out through skype(I don't mind if it's just messaging), and help me fully learn how to use my DAW and effectively make beats. I currently use FL studio 12. It would be greatly appreciated if anybody could help.

My skype username is "Awesomegamer1".

I would love to create a skype group of producers news or skilled to communicate each other, it would be mutch esier to ask for some quick help or smth like that

lesson 1

your basic setup is a 4/4 type, meaning you have 4 beats per measure.
if you want to make real music,
go crazy and use not only whole, half, quarter and eighth notes,
try dotted and triplets as well.

you will find that using them makes you sound more like the pro's.

lesson 2

keep it simple.
choice a single chord(progression) and stick with it the whole song, maybe change once or twice.
but use different variations every 8 or 16 bars.

lesson 3

learn the rules, because you have to break them.
but you can't break them without knowing them.

??

when you just fool around, it sounds like you fooled around.
when you break rules, people will recognize the rules but notice 'your own style' within those rules,
they LOVE that.
don't be a copy cat.
be a cat, sure, but a rogue one, new, fresh and full of surprises.

lesson 4

understand and apply lesson 1 in style

lesson 5

enjoy the previous lessons

Last edited:
I'll try to log in and help you guys. What times are everyone free? I'll post my Skype after i get out of class.

Last edited:
I want in on this Skype thing too. But I'm not a regular Skype user. Do we know when the first conversation will happen?