I have a problem making beats

noobz

As a producer, I figured there is a fine timeshift in FL. I've known this feature many moons ago but never really use it until recently, I always find myself tweaking it to get me the right movement on my beats.

What I initially wanted is to record in real-time, but I could never get the right movement without using the fine timeshift. I wonder why?

Does any of you have this issue or is it just me?

I am a keyboardist and I know quite a bit about music theory. I could play, but no matter how many take I record, I don't have the right movement unless I use the timeshift. Weird don't you think? Is this how music suppose to be? In other words, music doesn't come natural. You have to craft it.

Best,
Noobz

Hmmm really? But I could move the midi notes back to the grid and the movement still isn't there unless I increase the timeshift. Am I missing something?

Last edited:
To be honest, it sounds like its probably in your head. No offence.

What happens is that when you start out you think that you are trying to realize some idea in your head, that is built of components of knowledge you have acquired along the way. But the problem is that your doing things in a to literal way.

So you need to go and check your self 1st. The reason is this because, it would never be that every single time you need to play with the gird. Some times things will sound better tight and some times not. But this sounds like you have personal hang up.

Right the thing is, if you are noob you probably don't even know yet the music you are trying to make, let alone how to make it. Your goal should be to learn the general techniques of 1 style of music that you enjoy, then get to a place where you know all the techniques so well you can just enjoy making the music without having to stop all the time or worry about weird "I am genius because of this detail" stuff.

Last edited:
Actually, all outstandingly solid advice from Bobchops ^^^^.