How much money do you make with ASCAP?

zazulak44

Im was just reading as much as i can about ASCAP and was trying to figure out some info on it.

How much money do you make on ASCAP? and is that from radio or what?

What does it cost to register with ascap?

i'm pretty much doing the same thing, but i went ahead and applied as a writer. there is no fee, u just have to be putting something out, such as recording. as long as u've recorded something and plan on publicizing it. i'm still trying to find out when is it appropriate to start a publishing company?

zazulak44 said:
Im was just reading as much as i can about ASCAP and was trying to figure out some info on it.

How much money do you make on ASCAP? and is that from radio or what?

What does it cost to register with ascap?

also, if im a small indie artist that might only be getting spins on 1 radio station and 4 or 5 clubs, how is ASCAP goign to know how much spins im getting?

zazulak44 said:
also, if im a small indie artist that might only be getting spins on 1 radio station and 4 or 5 clubs, how is ASCAP goign to know how much spins im getting?

they're probably not...if I'm not mistaken and its been awhile since I emailed them but BMI or ASCAP takes a small sample of all the radio station and pays out based on that...

If you're really a small act then you're not going to make much. PROs usually do random sampling, and it's an honor system for clubs/venues/TV producers to report usage and licenses. Just keep publishing material and getting it out there, the more you have, the better chance you'll get income through there.

In the meantime, you should directly promote your own stuff and try to get UPFRONT income as much as possible. Even if someone promises "huge backend income" or big royalties down the road... get something upfront so you're not screwed later because it didn't get reported to your PRO properly.