How do you know if you are getting better?

Gazelle

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner in making electronic dance music. I have read a lot about it in books, watched video's from Groove3 and youtube and I can play a bit of piano. So with respect to theoretical knowledge I think I have enough of it for a beginner. I am using Logic Pro X and I made a couple of songs. I also try to synthesize several sounds and my goal is to synthesize almost all of them. I have read a book about synthesis.

However, I do not have a musical ear, I am not musical at all. So I cannot judge my own songs at all. I also do not know anyone that has a musical ear.

Therefore, I am wondering how I can see whether I am going in the right direction, if I am getting better?

Could you give me some hints about how I could judge my own songs so that I can see whether I am going into the right direction?

I reckon the best way to find the truth and to stop people pissing in your pocket is to find a PA system and play them in public, lol

the way you judge it is count how many people have looks of disgust vs how many look pleased and possibly dancing! Lol

1) Figure out what kind of music you intend to make and where you intend it to go.

2) Find a DJ who is already there- not in the scene or famous, but making mixes in that same lane and get feedback directly.

3) You can also get one confidant that you share your ideas with and take some pointers. If you make what you feel like making, you'll probably only need small amounts of criticism/advice.

4) You can also find out (through 2 and 3) who you sound the most like or similar to and share your music with that audience. You're not asking them "Do I sound like..?" or "How can I sound more like...? you'd be showing up saying "hey, do you like this too?"