How do I make a Digital Album?

RazielDiaz

Hello!

I have been on this forum for a while and have learn a lot from people here, but I just thought of making an account just to seek help I seem to find nowhere. My question is, how can I manage to put together a digital album?

First a little context.

I have been playing music for 5 years now, but I just started recording and mixing music a year ago. I know the very basics, I don't have the gear though. I use a Shure SM57 to record my instruments, mostly guitar, bass, and vocals; I use SoundFonts for instruments I don't own or know how to play, and use Audacity to record (I know, pretty low tier gear). I am really happy with the results, I don't really have a problem working this way as I know how to remove noise, compress sound, equalize, and such.

I want to make an album. It would be a tribute album, re-writing the album of one of my favorite bands, the band is called Magnolia y Los No Me Olvides, it's a side project and they just released a demo album, which is the one i'm recording, as I don't want to take the risk of recording and releasing my low fidelity original music. It would also be a free download album.

The thing is I have several questions:

- Aside from the songs and the cover art, what else should I include in the album folder? I thought about credits and lyrics.
- How do I organize songs inside the album?
- What information should each song contain, like artist, genre, duration, etc?
- Can I get in problems releasing the album even if its free?
- Is it very necessary to use better equipment to record?

I thinks that sums it up. Thank you very much for your attention! Hope i'm not asking too much.

edit: also sorry if this is the wrong sub-forum

Last edited:
- Aside from the songs and the cover art, what else should I include in the album folder? I thought about credits and lyrics.