How can I improve my proficiency at passing the melodies from my head to the keys?

DonTrump

as a beginner, my biggest frustation now is: I have in my head exactly how the beat should sound (melodies, drum patterns, bass etc) but when I try to transmit it to the DAW: zero. I think of myself as a creative person, but when it comes to the technical part I stuck. saw here at FP that one way to pass through it is studying music theory and I think maybe it's the way to go, but music theory is soooooo extensive, how would I know if what I'm reading is really useful to start having a nice workflow?
speaking of the melodies in special, what method did you guys use to improve your keyboard skills enough to create the tracks you create now? is keyboard classes the way to go since I just need enough skills to create hip hop instrumentals?

Usually I don't have the melody without my fingers being on the keys,, meaning I rarely invent a melody in my head to play it after.

if I do, I record my voice doing the melody so I can always listen to it when I will be playing it on the keys.

Usually I find my melodies while playing the keys so i'm already in the workflow when i'm thinking of the melody.

hope that helps.

Sounds like you don't have much knowledge regarding theory. Well the good news for you is that theory has nothing to do with putting down a melody you already have in your head. Just hum it and play it bro. Just find the first note on any sort of instrument or in your daw then you're golden..just gotta keep humming it till you put the whole pattern down

i just improvise all the time it doesnt get me bored and ican only play by ear, and iwas watching a segment on herbie hancock he mentions its good practice and it makes you better to improvise coming from a person who reads notes