How can I convert loops from FL Studio into a smooth song? If not should I change DAW

RichieC

Hey all, I'm a beginner to audio production and I like instrumental/hip hop type music. I would like to go for a the weeknd, Ilovemakonnen(Tuesday), singing sound. I bought FL Studio Producer thinking it would be great for making instrumentals. However, over time I realized that everything sounds so choppy, since it is essentially just playing a loop over and over again. I did some more research and I found out that DAW like Logic are meant for MIDI and are good for song creating.

What should I do? Can I get music quality from FL Studio? If not, what DAW would be suitable? I currently don't own a MAC, but I may buy one just to get another DAW.

Thanks. :cool:

You don't fully understand how FL studio works if you think it just makes loops. The step sequencer is where you can make a loop, then you use the PLAYLIST to organize and sequence your loops and sounds into a song. I recommend doing a little research about how to use FL studio. Around half the hip hop songs on the radio in the past 5 years were made on FL Studio.

Uhm, the question I have is how exactly do you think music in DAWs are made? Since you went and spent your money on FL studio, I highly suggest you have a go at getting to know how it works, and how music creation using similar kind of software is actually done before you run around and buy new stuff.

The fact that you came here today asking this question tells me you have little to no idea what's going on, and FL studio is very capable of creating these "smooth" songs as you call it, using nothing but loops. I wouldn't know a single person who would make a full hip hop beat using a single midi clip the way I think you think it should be done, because after a few patterns you're probably going to go back to a starting point anyway, so you would be looping your pattern which is no different than using shorter loops and playing them one after the other.