Hello, Newbie here...

Vagrancy

Hey everyone. I figured i would join your community of musicians hoping to better my knowledge of music. I have always had an interests in making music. When I was a kid, I found the best part of falling into a good video game was the music. Imported cds and osts from japan, played them in my cd player constantly. I enjoyed the music from video games and anime more than anything. Orchestral and Jazz music in my cd player, as a kid in the 6th grade, what a nerd...As of right now, I think my biggest influence is Nujabes, Flying Lotus is next in line.

I picked up FL about 4 years ago, and didn't do well with it. Picked up reason about a year ago, and I just feel overwhelmed with everything this program has to offer. For someone new to making music, these programs are seriously tedious.

Anyways, I want to do this, right, and right now. I have so many beats, rifts and loops I can create in my head, Just having a hard time putting it down in a program, Anyone else feel overwhelmed and ready to quit when they started? But I dont want to give up without seeking the proper knowledge and learning the basics. I felt the same way about Photoshop when I first picked it up, But now I have my own office and make a living self employed, selling my services in advertisement material and graphic design. So I know for a fact if you put your mind to it, anything is possible.

I can't live without music, I can't think right without music, I also can't work productively without music. I know how to take my heart and emotions and create something visual, Now I want to HEAR it.

Anyways, Just a quick introduction. I hope I can one day bring something to the table here. See ya around.

Last edited:
Welcome to FP

It sounds like you need to grow fond of habits and establish a workflow to get comfortable making music in the daw you use.

I dont want to give up without seeking the proper knowledge and learning the basics.