Hello everyone, another newbie here looking for some pointers

dankk

Hey guys, my name is Daniel, I am a 19 y/o living in NYC. As you can see by the title I am yet another newbie looking for some help. I really enjoy hip-hop/rap and house music(more specifically the classics), and I feel like I have a good taste for music. I am not in it for the money, I want to take on music production as a new hobby and over time become good at it.
The most discouraging thing for me, like for most, is where to start. Do I attend a music production course(which one is right for me, which one is worth the money, because I know that a lot of them can be pricey) or do I try to learn the craft on my own(I feel like with this I can miss out on a lot of stuff compared to taking a course)?
Those are the two main things I'm jumping between when it comes to starting. I enjoy music, and I know that I want to make it(or at least try lol), but I don't know where to begin.

Thanks in advance for the replies, much love!

Do what you're most comfortable with. If you learn better in a course, take a course. ...But just know that most of the information can be obtained for free if you look hard enough. I taught myself everything on my own. Well, I taught myself music production and music. I learned business at a university...

I know you can teach yourself, because I taught myself. The knowledge is out there (and I'm still learning too, so were in this together). If you're self-motivated enough, you'll find it. ....however, the arts do take a lot of practice. You have to practice often and develop an ear for producing.

Last edited: