Experienced advice needed please!

S

stealthy21

£4000 to spend Experienced advice needed please!

Myself and a few colleagues are looking to set up a studio to teach a few young people music.(obviously we will need to be trained first!). we have a space and £4000-5000.

I have had a couple of quotes and ideas one is for a powermac with logic 7 and speakers, mics etc. When i asked the guy in the shop about sound modules and mpc's etc. he said logic 7 was all you need these days.

i have a bit of experience using reason 2 and cubase vst but found the sounds not too proffesional and limited although it was just a standard pc and reason 2 and i am not very experienced.

ps i have tried searching for what equipment to buy b4 posting this... lol
We need to spend the money within the next few weeks.

Any ideas would be much appreciated?

Last edited by a moderator:
I would suggest you try to find a consultanting company in your area . I am from the US so I can not suggest one .

With what you are trying to do , this is not the best place to get your info .

They have businesses that sell , set up , and support the equipment/software .

Good luck !!

I should also add that they sell academic versions of a lot of software packages . They are about half the price of the regular versions with all the features .

Hi that was a qiuck reply!
there are no cosulting companies over here that i know of.

i just wanted some opinions on what software and hardware i could get with the money. Do you think The Logic 7 is a sensible choice? If you had around 9000 usd personally what would you buy the main kind of music we would be producing is Hip hop and garage e.g. dizzee rascal.

Peace

just the one station for now to start we will only have three students.

Cubase or any software sequencer out there is pretty useless without good equipment to use the sequencer with.