The drum dilemma

twranks

Hey guys/galz,
I've been making beats for a few months now. I don't know why but it just seem like my drums could sound a LOT better than they are are right now. The music group I produce for suggests that I change my laptop (intel celeron processor, 160GB HDD) but, being a very musically inclined person, I really doubt that will change anything. I am very good with the instrumentals but the drums always sound mediocre. I'm wondering if there's an effect (or a particular type of drum set) you guys use to make your drums sound professional?

Thanks for all the feedback in advance :)

First of all, changing your laptop is going to do absolutely squat for your drum programming.. sure it might allow you to do much more in terms of making actual beats, but I'm blatantly assuming that your drums don't sound "mediocre" because you're running low on processing power..

Second, you've only been intro production for such a short period of time, if I were you I wouldn't expect to be any real good at it for at least a few more years.

Third, what kind of drums are you talking about? Without knowing what you are referring to there is no telling what's going on, and how you'd be able to do something similar. There is no one effect or particular drum set that will automatically make your drums sound "professional".

Options:
Sample some drums off songs already made.
synthesize some with a module digital, kong tremor etc (making a clap will be the hard part)
download some of free and paid websites like loopmasters and vengeance.
record yourself hitting something, moving something around, noises, crickets blah blah.
And toy around with every knob till it does something you like and remember it

These would be best combined, more isn't always better but at the same time it wouldnt hurt to have a sizeable place to start with.