Drop college for music

lit_boi_eld

I really want to pursue a career in music.
I hate my college n the current course im studying.It was not my decesion but my parents.Should I drop college n concentrate on music ?

The music business plays no games with anyone and is a who rides a trend wave best game of chance and is a risk averse biz. Music will always remain while college, if you care to graduate at the usual age limit, won't. What are you studying?

Do yourself a huge favor and focus strictly on working on your craft as the era of posting on every social media site ever created and hoping for views/likes/subscribes/plays is gone and the people paying for promo are those who either already come from "deep pockets" or are years into the business (e.g. Jay-Z, Taylor Swift etc) and by all means focus on your education and if it isn't too late switch to another major that isn't music related and try to land a full time job as music has always paid a select few: the 1%.

Last edited:
^ ya, i did both. Find something you really want to study. The early GE classes (general education) suck, but once you get to the specialized courses in what you want to study, it's cooler. Those come in your 3rd/4th year. ...but ya, pick a field that interests you, and you can come to like it.

Also don't half-ass college, ...because then its a waste of time and a waste of money. Go into it with everything you have. Go to all the networking events, etc. It can open up opportunities that nothing else can.

...but ultimately, it's up to you. I know a lot of very very great producers that hold master degrees, and I know a lot really great producers that barely graduated high school. To each their own.

Last edited:
Go into it with everything you have. Go to all the networking events, etc. It can open up opportunities that nothing else can.