Do I need to learn music theory?

Tomix

I've researched this a bit, and flicked through a few books regarding music theory but i'm just not sure what relevance it has, I don't know how learning about chords etc has any relevance to producing music online. My question has two parts and i'd really appreciate any replies.

1. Is it necessary and important enough to fully learn? (I'll be learning it throughout the summer).

2. What book is the best for me? I've seen some which are based upon music producers but I don't know if they're the best ones to go for.

I am making electronic music with multiple genres such as house, deep house, chill wave etc.

get yourself the Dance Music manual by Rick Snoman and maybe Music theory for computer musicians

I've been reading music theory and applying it to my music making ventures (which are far more wide ranging than just dance music) for more than 38 years - I have a degree in composition which I took in 87.

the thing with working out what you need to now comes back to what you are trying to achieve - but there are several posts and threads here at fp that cover the bare minimum of what you need to know in order to apply music theory to your writing successfully

essentially you need to understand

rhythm which is durations ~ sounds and silences
pitch which makes scales and chords
dynamics ~ loud and soft and changes from one to the other
articulations ~ how to play a sound on a specific instrument, including accents, shorter notes, stressed notes and combinations of these and some dynamics markings like fp (loud immediately followed by soft - most useful in wind writing, both wood- and brass- wind)
melody which combines pitch and rhythm and dynamics and articulations
harmony which is applied to melodies or from which melodies may be derived - harmony is a sequence or progression of chords