Completely 100% New, Zero Idea How to Get Started.

Star11

I'm a fifteen year old sophomore in high-school aspiring to make videos on YouTube of me playing Jazz. The only problem with this, I have no idea where to start. From the other "newbie" posts I've seen so far, most of them had already started, if at least for a tiny but. What I know is I need a DAW, good speakers, and to know how to mix. What I don't know is which DAW to use (also limited by my inability to purchase anything for now), how to record (I do have a microphone: Audio Technica 2005 USB Cardioid Dynamic, which I'm not really sure if it's what I should be using for things like a saxophone, trumpet, etc.), know how to mix, really I just have no idea how to start. Any help would be really very greatly much appreciated. Also if there are any video tutorials that would be beneficial for someone completely new like me, some links would be greatly appreciated.

Greetings and welcome - great to see a young musician interested in jazz ;) Best place to start, imho, is an excellent, free online course from Berklee College of Music called "Introduction to Music Production". Covers the basics of DAWs, tracking, effects, etc. Six weeks long, next session starts tomorrow. You will need a DAW for the course - don't use something you find cracked on the net, often unstable and prone to crashing. Get a copy of Reaper, which is fully functional for a 60 day trial. Actually, it never expires, just keeps bugging you to pay up. Make sure to check out the great tutorial videos, as well as the active user forums. Many sax and brass players there you can learn from, friendly place.