Choosing the right speakers or monitors

beethoven77

Hello guys.
I am basically an audio newbie who is looking to get an entry level studio monitors for some multimedia content creation (music production and video editing as a hobby) and also daily use (listening to music, watching movies). So the speakers would not require to be highly professional.

I have done some research and came up with the following list of speakers:

Alesis Elevate 5 - $299
Behringer MS40 - $329
Presonus Eris e4.5 - $369
KRK Rokit RP5G3 (pair) - $599
JBL LSR305 (pair) - $719
Yamaha HS5 (pair) - $729

These are the prices in my location. Unfortunately, my budget is limited and I would not want to spend more than this.
Which pair would be best suitable for a beginner who wants a reasonable pair of monitors?
It would be deeply appreciated if you could help me out.
Thank you very much.

P.S. I went to the local shop and had a listen to the KRK Rokit 6 G3s and 8 inch Mackie monitors (can't remember the name). I am a newbie but the rokits seemed to have a bit mellow, closed (?), muddy sound in them. Maybe it's because I am a newbie but I preferred the sound of the Mackies which sounded clearer to me. I really want to try out the JBLs, Yamahas, and the lower ends like the Alesis and Presonus from the list above too but my local stores don't seem to have them, only the online shops have them sadly. It would be deeply appreciated if you guys can share your opinions and help me out! Thanks.

Last edited:
Where are you at? Because those prices are really high. The Yamahas & the JBLs are probably the best regarded out of this bunch.

man I feel so bad when I think that all I have is some In-Ear headphones cause my studio headphones died 2 days ago xD Seems sooner or later I have to get some speakers as well :P