BMI,ASCAP,Publishing question!!

NOVA_757

I started working with this artist , he's gonna be releasing an album this summer on an indie label that is under a well known major label.

Imma be producing about 5 songs for him. Of course i know to copyright them and everything, however since i kno that he is going to release this under a legit label, i have a question about gaining royalties.

This is my first time working with an artists thats gonna print a mass unit of cds like this and I know i need to join BMI or ASCAP..im leaning towards ASCAP tho.

Should i register as a writer, publisher or BOTH?

i read somewhere on the board that if im registerd as a writer,...i have to find a publisher in order for me to collect mechanical royalties?

If so could i avoid that by registering as a Writer & Publisher..by "publishing" the songs myself?

Can someone PLEASE shed some light on this for me?

Register as both. By law if you create a song , whether it is a beat or a beat with words, you are the copyright holder (Publisher).

If you wrote a song or beat then signed it to a outside publisher (Publishing company), you WOULD NOT be the publisher, but a song writer signed to a Publishing deal. Further more, you couldn’t sell the beat or song yourself since you don’t own it, the Publisher does)

The publisher would give you 50% of whatever it earns, (from CD sales, Radio play, sync licensing, etc) But Why give a Publisher your song (to have forever) of you can publish it yourself and keep 100% of the money from licensing?

ok thanks 4 ur help...another question tho

at first i was leaning towards ascap since i could sign up as BOTH writer/publisher...

but i talked to my professor(music production,video, protools class..he also has his own band) and he told me that it would be better to go with BMI

so should i go with BMI and sign up separately as a Writer and then Publisher

OR

with ascap..sign up at the same time as BOTH writer/publisher?