BeatMaker2 to MPD+(Which?)DAW

Tryp9

Hey y'all,
I'm just getting into beatmaking after years of rocking and rolling on various instruments. I started with a few apps like BeatMaker 2, and just bought an MPD26 hoping to move over to a desktop DAW setup. I downloaded the Ableton Live demo and, of course, was immediately overwhelmed. I'm hoping to find some program or plug-in that will let me chop, finger drum, and sequence as simply as I can on BeatMaker, and maybe learn to use something like Ableton to mix and master after I've sketched out a rough track. Sorry if this is a dumb question with an easy to find answer- brand new to digital music and already in over my head. Already learned a bunch from y'all, so thanks for sharing your knowledge.

I find Ableton a bit too much as well TBH... I've got a few mates who love it and it probably is worth preserving with... If you can be arsed... I can't. Confuses me too much!

I use Maschine (which doesn't help you) inside S1 and/or Cubase myself and either of them will work for you...
However... I'd probably look at Logic (if you're Mac) or FL-Studio if I'm honest...
Reason is pretty easy to get to grips with (although the last time I used it was a million versions ago)

Not sure what you do but try out all demos you can find of every daw :/

Ableton's pretty neat but I prefer other daws to it for everything, it has one awesome feature though, clip launching.

There's demoes for

Fl studio
ableton
reason
studio one
reaper doesn't count, full version is free
lmms is free
podium
motu DP
Bitwig I think.

I stuck with reason and studio one cuz of how they work, but ableton isn't bad. Reaper's awesome.
Bitwig is ableton inverted lol.