Basic equipment for producing music

MikeEffay

I would like to hear some suggestions from you guys on equipment. Aside from a computer and a pair of headphones, what are the BASIC types of equipment, and how are they assisting the proces of music making? If you got the chance to start all over again, what would you get first, and why?

My goal is to produce hip hop/trap beats, and i'm currently using FL Studio 11.

This is probably a dum question, and feel free to post some links, if you think that will answer my question.

Please bare with me. i'm new to music making and this forum. Have fun everyone, and thanks in advance!

Last edited:
Aside from your computer your monitors should be the next expensive thing, then if it suits your workflow get a midi keyboard and you're good. You don't need a million dollars to achieve a million dollar sound

I second what MarcoMark said, all you need is a computer, headphones, monitors and a MIDI controller. Even just a 25 key controller can do the job, though I would recommend a 49 or larger. Also, if you are intending on sampling you might want a controller with MPC style pads but you can always use the keys as pads.

Thanks for the replies. Why monitors? How are they utilized, and how do they make the production of music easier/better? - It's a jungle out there, and it's going to be really difficult to choose some good ones the first time. Any recommendations?

Getting the best monitors you can afford lets you hear as much detail in the sound as possible. Thereby allowing you to make the necessary changes like eq, compression etc. if necessary. Good ones also give a transparent sound where nothing is enhanced, like regular consumer speaker systems are.

As for recommendation, krk rokit series is a good start. 8's if you can, gives more bass info than the 5's. But 5's will do to start, but you wont have a very good idea of whats going on in the sub bass freq's like for 808 kicks.