Backing up files? External Hard Drives?

treydey33

Hey all.

I've been making stuff on Logic and Ableton for about 9 months now... I have quite a bit of material and it's not something I plan on losing. I understand back-up is important but I just don't know where to start.

Cloud storage? External Hard Drives? A USB flash drive?

I want something that I can plug in every now and then and save ALL my files from this laptop, I don't care about security for now (although it would be nice to keep under the bed), and this is assuming my apartment will never burn down. Also, I don't care about having an external drive to keep samples on. All I care about is storage, just incase you know, I drop my Macbook or it dies on me. I'm using a Macbook Pro, so I only have 2 usb's and a thunderbolt output (One usb is split between a MIDI controller and a mouse, and the other usb is running an audio interface). So unless it's a Thunderbolt, I'm not fond of the idea of having something extra plugged into my computer 24/7.

Seriously though I have no idea. I know nothing. I just want to know what I should do to back stuff up in this case the worst happens to this computer.

I have a large external HD...

I never back any of my projects up. I do store samples on there, but it's mainly full of music and photos...

Bad NoGuru Bad!!

My setup is sloppy, a TB drive and a 500gb extra drive at average 7400rpm.
Cloud storage is useful for fast internet. 6mbps upload for instance.
But backing up to a drive is about... 50-250mb per second.

For this time period, sticking to drives. Backing up stuff is not necessary, partitions get rid of that issue entirely and can split one drive into multiple virtual drives so windows never even touches parts of a drive.

The smaller one is my "lab" where I store projects and drumkits/wavetables/graintables and sample libraries and some anime and films lol. Also be storing my kong patches and little reaktor module too.