So... someone explain to me "DJ-ing"

Noizemaker

I have been a musician for several years now, and I have just gotten into the world of edm music and production. I am looking at becoming a DJ to promote my tunes and just have some fun. However, I don't really know anything about the technique behind it or what equipment is necessary. Also, I would like to incorporate elements of live instrument performance into my DJ sets (live drums, guitar, etc.) but I don't know what hardware/software is typically used for that kind of thing.

So yeah... lots of questions. Any information will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Sounds to me like you should check out Ableton live. Its a great program for incorporating live elements into the world of DJing. There are a ton of tutorials on Youtube and I have a feeling you can trial Ableton from there website. Of course, like with mastering any skill, it will take heaps of practise and dedication. But the results are epic. One great things about that particular program is that whereas traditional DJing involves simply blending one track into another, Live gives you more creative control with mixing various elements of a track, adding bits & bobs musically as well as being a great tool for producing music itself. If you're just starting out though, perhaps try a program like Virtual DJ to get to grips with beat-matching (Which is made significantly easier on programs like these as it will automatically 'sync' the BPM). It'll help you get a flavour for mixing one track into another, and what works and doesn't.