Just bought a Vestax PDX 2000

Unsystematic

I just bought a Vestax PDX 2000 and am wondering what are some good quality needles to use within the $50 to $100 price range? I am new to turntables and will mainly be using it for taking samples off of LP's for my samplers but would like to use it for some light scratching too. What would be a good all around needle?:sing:

the shure 447 is nice

i have a shure whitelabel. it sounds great, supossedly less wear than ortofon... but if you were going to mix i'd say get ortofon

for some needles that are cheap but good the stanton 520sk dj craze signature works great. nice tracking and low cue burn.

i hade those craze needles man. They skip . Now i got a pair of shure m447 with like no weight on them and i cant make skip. Plus i seen videos of craze using shure needlez

Unsystematic said:
I just bought a Vestax PDX 2000 and am wondering what are some good quality needles to use within the $50 to $100 price range? I am new to turntables and will mainly be using it for taking samples off of LP's for my samplers but would like to use it for some light scratching too. What would be a good all around needle?:sing:

For sampling you'll want an audiophile cart. If you buy a DJ one go for the Ortofon NiteClub.

For scratching (heavy) then you'll want a Shure M44-7 but we're talking serious turntablism. If you're only going to be doing the occasional scratch then the Ortofon NC will do you fine.

An alternative is the Shure M44-G but it's not going to sound as good as the Ortofon. You actually may be better off buying a Shure M44-7 for scratching and an audiophile cart for sampling (I have no idea what to recommend here but I'm sure others do).

An alternative is the Shure M44-G but it's not going to sound as good as the Ortofon. You actually may be better off buying a Shure M44-7 for scratching and an audiophile cart for sampling (I have no idea what to recommend here but I'm sure others do).