help me out

alok_g9

i am a rookie interested in djing ( very desperate)
problems :
1. no money : max of 600$ initial investment
2. inclined towards cd players no tt's at all which ones would you suggest
3. suggestions for mixers
4.which format do these cd players support is it the *.cda formt??
5. do i need to pracice on dj softwares to get the hang of it before going for hardware investment???
6.i am an indian. many unfavourable consequences :
a. no hardware dealers here suggest reliable and secure sites
b. *.cda format will suit me est .. no vinyl records sold here
7.can i scrach on cd players

thanks in advance
:confused:

Last edited:
You should probably save up a bit more money and get a pair of Pioneer cdj-100s and a Geminu UMX or Vestax PCV 002 mixer.

All cd players natively play .wav files but some new ones also support MP3s.

You don't need to use dj software before getting hardware. Software tends to do a lot more for you than hardware does.

I don't know how you'll be getting the tunes you want to play w/o buying vinyl. There are sites that will ship internationally though. Talk to Tricky, he's another FP member from India, I'm sure he'll have lots more suggestions for you.

-Gene

gene-pool said:

All cd players natively play .wav files but some new ones also support MP3s.

nah actually they support redbook cd format (*.cda) not wav. wav is still data and not audio. it is however micrrosofts interpretation of redbook cd audio........

Isn't PCM a higher standard, which Microsoft has an interpretation of? Like MS-DOS? Or am I missing something?

alok_g9 said:
i am a rookie interested in djing ( very desperate)
problems :

1. no money : max of 600$ initial investment

look into buying equipment used. www.ebay.com
pioneer cdj-100's and the pioneer cdj-300. numark fusion mixers and axis cd players are good too. stanton and american dj stuff is decent too.

2. inclined towards cd players no tt's at all which ones would you suggest