Differences between Kaoss Pad & Effects Processor?

1900hustla

Hey whats up? I have my dj det up and want to add effects. I am interested in either a multi-effects processor or a Kaoss Pad but dont know the difference between the two other than what i read on sites that are selling them(and that isnt too helpful in knowing other than what it does). Does anyone have either of these and if so would you recommend it to others? Also as a newbie i am interested to know what effects can you get out of these. I visited a turntable store in NYC and they didnt have too mucj input on this, so i am coming to you guys...... Thanx

if you're talking about 19" rack mount multi effects. (which is to me what it sounds like) then they are mainly used for studio applications. they arent setup for live work. the kaoss pad in a true sense is also a multi effects unit but its been designed to operate in a live dj environment.

the Kaoss pad is a cheap digital FX unit / sampler with a very innovative user interface.

the basic principle behind all FX is to warp the sound - reverbs and echoes make the sound appear to be bouncing around a large room, delays cause the sound to echo over and over again, flanges and phasors give music that airplane "whooshing" sound, and filters remove or enhance certain frequencies, much the way you can turn the treble or bass wayyy down or way up.

Fx units come in two flavors - digital or analogue. the analogue kind uses circuits and wires, while the digital kind uses computer chips to mimic the sounds of analogue machines. analogue units have a rougher, more extreme and unique sound while the digital kind have a smoother, cleaner, but less spectacular sound. digital FX are usually much easier to control, and cost a lot less than analogue machines. Kaoss pads, Alesis Air FX, and the Pioneer DJM mixers all use digital FX systems.

so you have 3 choices in front of you:

1. analogue or digital? (discussed above)

2. what kind of control interface?