Beginner Starting Up

ZingyZ

Hi, im new to DJ'ing, for a while now i've been creating techno music for my local dj friends to use, but now i'm ready to start out by myself.

I have absolutely no idea what i need (turntables, speakers, cd players, amps, mixers). I don't really know what i need to do the job.

Do i have to use vinyl records to dj, or can i just use cds? I have a nice collection of trance techno cds i can use. Is there someway i can still get the benefits of mixing on vinyl, without really using vinyl records (i.e. a dummy record on turntable that will change the way the cd is playing?)

As for speakers, how many do i need (and how many watts, etc, brand) If i will mainly be playing in a very small environment (about the size of a small restaurant).

Most of the places i will be playing at there will only be a maximum of 60-80 people, so i am on a tight budget of only $1000 dollars. I'm hoping i can get some primo equipment on a budget somehow online. Also if im buying equipment online, how will i know how well things sounds (speakers, etc.).

so you want to spend $1000 dollars on sound equipment or on dj equipment and sound..... if you have only 1k for everything you might be better renting sound equipment and spending your $$ on high quality dj equipment rather than having to get cheap everything..

cd vs vinyl is pretty much personal choice... if you think cd will fit what you have better go for it.... some people use cd some turntables some have cd with a turntable so they can records to cd as some records aren`t avaible on cd.... for dj cd decks pioneer and denon seem to be well liked(i play vinyl so i don`t know) with vinyl just go with a pair of technics they`re cool!!

the benifit of cd with the feel of vinyl you mentioned is avaible its called final scratch, however you`ll need a newer laptop to make it run so it may end up being more than FS $500 pricetag(laptops are expensive)