Ack! HEEEELLLPPP!

G

[G-Prime]

Ok! I've got my birthday party happenin on the 22nd of Feb. and I want to mix some stuff to impress my friends, etc. Im not going to be using turn tables but am gonna use NI Traktor DJ Studio 2. I've got no experience with DJ'ing, never tried to. I do know musical terms, what knobs do etc. I do need some crash courses on how to mix, any help, or whatever. Im planning on spinning rap, even thought I dont want to but most of the people around my area like rap. So someone, PLEASE HELP ME OUT! Thank you in advanced!

Why would you want to mix some stuff to impress them if you never even mixed before? And sorry i cant help with your question couse iv never used one of those before.

I think it woudl be best if you just played a track and then faded into the next track when that track was over. Instead of attempting to mix, which is somethign that takes time and practice. That way, they won't listen to you attempt to mix and, in the case you do mess up horribly, they won't be like, "What the ****?"

If it's Vinyl or CD then you're probably not going to be able to learn to mix in a month (unless you practice 8 hours a day every day!) but I don't know if I can say the same for software DJing.

I know nothing about Tractor - maybe you should post a question in the DJ Software group?

One of the most important things with spinning Rap/R&B/Hip Hop is knowing your tunes. If you're not familiar with the genre then you're going to have a hard time mixing. You have to know when the vocal start etc etc otherwise the mix will sound carp (there's nothing worse than having two different vocals on top of each other).

I think you should take Shoe's advice and fade-in/fade-out tracks without trying to mix too much. Anything more advanced is going to take a while to learn... Good Luck!