virtual dj help

elchamo

so a friend is throwing a party and wants me to dj it... the only problem is i only have a basic understanding of the virtual dj software..... so my questions are...

1. is there ANY way to use headphones to listen to the upcoming track WITHOUT a mixer?
2. can you give me some tips on mixing tracks without using headphones to hear the upcomming track?

my setup:
computer, virtual dj, headphones, heaphone splitters

Don't accept a job until you know your equiptment, your material, and have developed your skill. Your friend is looking for a quick and cheap solution... and you're setting yourself up for failure. Don't do it...

And VDJ of all programs is NOT the one you want to experiment with in a public setting! Read and heed.....

well he knows im not an expert, and they're not expecting me to go crazy on the scratching.... i got a wide selection of music and all and i recorded a few 15 min mixes i can use ....
... the music im playing is merengue, techno, reggaeton n hiphop. u guys r right though, however ive been practicing a lot and i think that if i play it safe and not fool around so much ill b fine.
i will let you guys kno what happens ok

so yeah the party was last night... im not the kinda person to back down from something so i still did it... i kno u were just tryinna help b but i disliked ur responses so negative yet realistic. the party was a success and i mixed songs using the beat sync figure and by looking at the waves. I also fooled around with the looping beats and came out wit sum fun stuff, i also added sound effects like sirens and stuff. maybe u guys should take more risks cuz good things can come out of it i really enjoyed it, i played one of my techno beats and ppl were breakdancing to it (happy moment indeed)
and ppl came up to me and complemented me so yeah.

Last edited: