Scratch in Vocals like DJ Premier, Anyone Know How?

Can anyone tell me how to scratch in Vocals like Premier does on his hooks? Direct Drive, Belt Drive, a certain program? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

noblewordz said:
Whats to explain, you take a bunch of lines and scratch them. How you do it is your choice.

He's basically right, you need to be good at skratching to make your stuff sound like primo. There is no certain turntable or program that will make you sound anywhere close to him.

I'm starting with no knowledge of scratching. I have used reason and recycle to get beats done, I have been sampling off my belt drive turntable and have been pulling everything into logic to mix and master, but again, I have no knowledge of even where to begin. So any base knowledge would be useful

Juice Productions said:
I'm starting with no knowledge of scratching. I have used reason and recycle to get beats done, I have been sampling off my belt drive turntable and have been pulling everything into logic to mix and master, but again, I have no knowledge of even where to begin. So any base knowledge would be useful

Well you will need a DJ Mixer. Rane or Vestax are preferable, although there are cheaper alternatives. You will need a direct drive turntable, preferably Vestax or Technics, again there are cheaper alternatives. Then find the records you want cut with and start practicing.

patrickdpr said:
Well you will need a DJ Mixer. Rane or Vestax are preferable, although there are cheaper alternatives. You will need a direct drive turntable, preferably Vestax or Technics, again there are cheaper alternatives. Then find the records you want cut with and start practicing.

and if you want to skratch the vocals of your own work, then like the other guy said you got to get serato or something similair

Last edited:
Juice Productions said: