Questions on DJ Equipment

S

shbi

Hey all...before you leave this thread seeing my 1 post count and seeing the thread title, please take a minute to read my queries and leave some advice- would be deeply appreciated.

I'm a 17 year old student from London UK, currently studying at college. My main interest is music and after many years of listening to various DJs and enjoying the musical style, I have finally earnt some cash in the summer (about £650 after expenses of too many nights out) to hopefully fulfil one of my aspirations. I am not a total stranger to the equipment, as I know a fair bit bout turntables and mixers from research, listening to music and watching shows, and have tried out before with friends setups and stuff. However, because I am reluctant to spend my hard earned cash on impulse, i thought I would ask for some advice on these forums, due to the collective wealth of information and advice here. I'm not totally new to FP, and have checked the site occassionally for about half a year, but have never felt the need to post, not actually being a producer/DJ.

Due to my budget, I expect I'll be buying used equipment off ebay (easier than anywhere else with bigger choice) but this is fine by me, as long as all the stuff works and come in relatively good nik. If any of you have suggested questions to ask sellers before committing to an auction, i would be interested to hear, especially if they are problems to do with performance and bearing in mind any common problems with the equipment i would like to get.