New Year Eve GIG ?

Viper983

Well I will be haveing my first gig at this bar on New Years Eve LOL what a time to start at a bar. Oh well I think I should be ok, I have done plenty of parties at my brothers and a few other house parties.
My question is for Dj's that have done new years eve gigs is what do you do around midnight. I have been thinking about this whether I just kind of keep on playing music or do somthing speacial. I was thinking about doing some kind of count down maybe in a song but not really knowing what songs to play after or what. I have heard some cool techno songs but where I will be playing, I don't think techno will be liked.

Hey there, good luck with that!

Im still learning so i cant really help you out with the DJ side of that, but as a punter on NYE i would be a bit dissapointed if 12 went by without recognition.

Never really done a New Years gig, but I think you'd be safe to just take a moment to acknowledge the new year, give the couples there time to get their little kiss in, and keep the party jumping. Line up a few tracks you know people are going to like, and play them one after another to start off the new year in a good way.

And if your instincts tell you techno would be a bad choice, stay away from techno. You're there for the people's enjoyment, not your own.

Good luck.

Peace!

mix into an instrumental count down the new year starting at about a minute before, and then mix right into the next song.

You meen have a minute count down with a instrumental in the back ground?? is that to long. Also any good new years eve songs to play after.

My buddy played Ice T's "Let's Get Buck Naked (And F&*K)" right after New Years. Needless to say, he and his much abused bar tab aren't back there this year!