New Tech 1200's - Setup with Shure Whitelabel

dj_owl

Whats up everyone,

So I've finally gotten my hands on the real deal and picked up a set of 1200's with Shure Whitelabel cartridges and Serato. I have been using a DDJ-SR controller for a few years but this is my first chance at spending any significant amount of time on a vinyl setup.

Since the gear was used I did my research and checked what to watch out for when buying used. The decks are visibly in good condition, pitch is calibrated correctly, cables are good, one tone arm appears to work the way it should (according to youtube) but the other doesn't really swing much when I adjust anti-skip. I don't think the previous owner did much scratching and he had each deck setup a bit different.

After reading over the manual for the cartridges I adjusted the counter weight and tone arm height and began playing around. Playback seems fine but I notice sometimes when I scratch there is a bit of skipping and I swear I can smell something if I'm scratching for awhile. Its not like a burning smell but maybe the record or the needle wearing?

From what I've read the tone arm should be level when the needle is on the record but even with the height at 0 there is still a bit of downward slope. I did some reading and it said to try it around 3mm which I currently have it set to. I have tried the counter weight at 2.5 to 3.5 g's which it suggests in the manual.

I really don't want to damage anything and can't seem to find a definitive answer on how to have these setup so I was looking for some advice. If anyone has experience with these cartridges or has any general advice it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Its not exactly a burning smell and its very mild. It smells like if you held the vinyl up to your nose but I'm not holding it up to my face.

I'm not sure what you mean by is it rock steady? Do you mean is it level or is everything working correctly?