Check out my mix... and I'll check out yours...

D

DjJinx

Hi!!! I'm new to this web site... It's great to be able to join such a nice community!!!

I figure that this would be a great place to get some real responses and opinions about my mixes or the music that I made. So, I made this Real Video of myself mixing on one of my practice sessions. If you have some free time please check it out at

http://www.nolensvolens.com/

or...
just click on this link to wactch live stream of my mix...

http://djjinx.hypermart.net/ram/Mix000916.ram

My newest mix is "Techno Mix 2" or you can just click on the "Play" button on the top of that web page. I have some off-beat breaks in there but like I said before it's just my practice mix. If you are so kind to critique it, it would be great; so, that I would know how to improve myself.

If anyone wants me to give my opinion about his/her mixes, please let me know also. I wouldn't mind giving my little humble opinion about people's materials...

Thank you,
DjJinx

Review

Hello DjJinx

Since you went to the task of putting yourself on Real Video the least someone can do is review for ya eh?
Here is my Review:

You appear to have the beatmatching down so now you should work on mixing. Making the mix from one record to another smooth. Your mixes seem to stop and start again in places. Drop the effects and tricks. They are taking away from the main focus which is the music. I think you might be putting useless attention to them rather than the mix. Effects and tricks are ok but use them very little or else they will kill the music. You went through the first few records pretty fast - did not give me time to get into the song. Take your time and dont rush - relax. If you are in the mix then work on not touching the platter. Use that pitch control. It is an instrument in itself. When DJing take us on a ride. Give us a couple off slammin tunes then ease back a little, then hit us again etc. Peaks and valleys are what makes a good Dj.