CDJ vs Controller

Hey!

I just recently got back into DJing myself. I'm from the vinyl era and have been out the game for about 6 years. I bought myself a Numark Mixtrack Pro 2 and its working great for me. I think doing the digital thing is way cooler than CD and its a great piece of equipment. Also the fact that u can find almost any track you want on MP3 that you would have to dig for days if using vinyl. Obviously u can just burn onto CD if ur using CDJ's but I'm happier with a controller so far.

I would agree - you can check out my videos with the Numark Mixtrack pro 2.

I never thought i would be saying this but CD's are ol' school and will waste a lot of time (burning out CD's etc) your much better off with a good Controller, MP3's.

I've been djing for 15 years and have Djed on everything... vinyl is my love but digital and controllers makes life easy.

get a cheap controller to start and software (most come with a lite version, or even full sometimes) because other than shit that is otherwise useful (monitors, headphones can be used for anything) you're only dropping a few hundred dollars and can get a feel for it/know if you like it without breaking the bank. just don't use auto-sync or use it as little as possible it will hold back your skill-level.

that said CDJs and turntables are the only options at many venues still, so eventually you're either going to have to learn or even buy cdjs or a serato set-up. (again, don't use auto-sync.) but if you try it out and just can't stand it at least you didn't drop a few gs on a now-worthless to you and half the price on the market dj setup.

It really depends on what you prefer. I never really got into vinyl mainly because I can't mix fast enough. I usually play 45 songs an hour so I use a controller.