Balancing the arm with new cartridges - desperately need help!

Mellie Jeen

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to everything, so please forgive my ignorance if I ask a dumb question here...but...I bought some new Ortofon Concord pro cartridges and have discovered that my records don't play properly anymore...they skip..which has lead me to discover the world of balancing stuff.

I've read a few things on how to balance the arm, but I'm finding it a bit confusing. The articles advise that I need to get the arm horizontal to the deck and then set the arm to 0; which I've done...however, then the cartridge doesn't touch the record. If I adjust the tracking force to 3.5, it still doesn't touch. The only way I can get the record to play is if I move the weight all the way (or just about) forward, but then I'm worried about tearing my records up.

What am I doing wrong here - I know it's probably really simple and obvious.:cry:

Once you've set the tone arm to zero, you're supposed to set the weight to an amount specified for each needle. Your paper work that came with the needle, or the package itself should have a weight listed. It may be that they're designed to be used with the weights maxed out, or even turned around, but I'm not really sure.

Thanks for the advice! I worked out how to set the arm. So the next problem is that Ortofon advise that the needle pressure should be set to 3, but it maxes out at 1.75. Should I turn the weights around, and if so, do you know what it should be set on the other way?

If you turn the weights around, you just spin them in all the way. I'm not sure if a backward weight can fit in any other position. If you're using the Ortofons that are designed for scratching, they should have a really good scratch wear rating, meaning they shouldn't cause much vinyl burn, even with the weights maxed.