Producers rap?

JaxBeats

What's your take on producers that rap?

Do you think that they should strictly do beats?

Is it looks down upon or something? cuz it seems like there's only a couple

If they are somewhat decent at it, i think they should.

From a business/positioning angle, a producer who raps is in a much better position than one who doesn't. Dr Dre, Pharrell and Timbaland are perfect examples of that.

As far as I rember, J.Cole sample and mix most of his own tracks. Same with Kayne.

Im a producer rapper myself, just change up your proffesions form tiem to time, like 3 days with producing only, and then 3 days writing and rapping lyrics.

RZA, J-Dilla, Kev Brown, Nottz Raw, Evidence of Dialated Peoples, Big K.R.I.T., Diamond D, Damu The Fudgemunk, Flying Lotus, Tyler The Creator, JonWayne, Pete Rock, Heavy D, Kaimbr, Oddisee, MF DOOM, Madlib, Necro, El-P, Ill Bill, Aesop Rock, Black Milk, Jay Electronica and so forth. There are more than a handful of producer/ rappers. Its just a balancing act. How much effort do i put into beats and how much into lyrics? But there will always be a producer who tries to rap or sing just like there are rapper/ singers who try to produce. Doesn't mean they all should but it's all in their creative ability though.

whats your take on a rapper that produces? in all honesty it doesn't matter to me how many things an artist can do as long as they are good at them all ^^;;

I dont understand why you guys dont rap over your own beats. Just make it bump like most club bangers and go in. If these wack ass nigglets can make it you can too, doesnt matter if youre talented at it