Burning Bridges in Rap For a Government Job?

I'm an 18 year old rapper, and I did a music video shoot which had other rappers smoking weed, drinking, eating shrooms, etc. I'm also a student in college and I might eventually get a job in Urban Planning. The other rappers came to la all the way from ny, and a good amount of money was spent on the video. I don't know if I should release it, because I want to do music, but if that doesn't work out my major could lead to a government job. What do you guys think about potentially incriminating videos on the internet? Should I pursue what I really want to do (music) or grow up and focus on my potential future in Urban Planning?

Last edited:
If you post it and it is found...you won't get a gov't job. But you're fine if you've done nothing incriminating and the content doesn't damage your character.

FYI if you're rapping about dope and all the goons you got, you're gonna look guilty by association. And no offense, if you even gotta make a thread like this, you've prolly done enough other stuff to compromise a gov't career in the past that could catch up to you, lol. All depends on who's doing the homework on you and how they take what they find.

You will not be burning any bridges. Destroy that video and get that government job.

Those dudes in the video will not be able to do anything for you when you finish college. They will still be getting high and partying. They will probably hate on you for getting a college education.

Burn those bridges. I will buy the gasoline and matches. Education > Rap career.

Do u have a record? Do u rap under your birth name? Do u really think this vid will go viral?

No, I don't rap under my birthname, but my facebook and twitter are under my birthname, and it's gonna be over there. The video's probably not gonna go viral, but it might have like, 15-20 thousand views on youtube, and a few of my professors know of my music.

Last edited: